Uncategorized

Breaking out the new cookbook — Spaghetti w/garlicky greens

I broke out my brand new cookbook last night for dinner.

I tried the cover recipe of the  Williams-Sonoma cookbook Healthy in a Hurry.

Ingredients: 12 oz. whole-wheat spaghetti or linguini, 1 bunch (about 1/2 lb.) red or green chard,1 bunch (about 1/2 lb.) dinosaur (lacinato) kale, 4 Tbs. olive oil, 4 garlic cloves pressed or minced,1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes,1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, Lemon wedges for serving

Directions: Cook pasta according to directions and drain water. Tear leaves off of stem and rinse thoroughly in a collander.  Heat olive oil in pan and add garlic and and red pepper flakes . Cook for about one minute and then add greens. Cook until they are wilted (about 5 minutes) .

Add pasta to pan with leaves, garlic and red pepper. Add remaining olive oil and mix thoroughly. Mix in parmesan and serve with lemon wedges.

Note: I made mine without the chard, just the kale. I also used a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and trust me, it was definitely hot.

Overall: Very delicious, very garlicky and very hot.

And much like my new grill, I’m in love with my new cookbook. 🙂

I’m making this recipe next!

Leave a Reply

