Uncategorized

Frittata Time

I had a plan Sunday morning.

I would walk to my boyfriend’s house (3.3 miles away according to Google) and then he would drive me back and I would make breakfast for us.

Then I got ambitious and decided I would walk another mile-ish to the Publix to pick up the newspaper and some wasp killer (A nest has formed outside my door!) and then back to Gray’s house.

That meant a total of 5.5 miles.

I almost got derailed by the sight of the playground at my favorite park.

Let’s just say breakfast became more of a brunch. I didn’t wind up making it until 11ish.

It was the second recipe I tried from my  Williams-Sonoma cookbook (which after two meals may be my new favorite).

Frittata with turkey sausage and arugula.

I had to cut the recipe from Williams-Sonoma in half. I’m sure it would have been perfect for a family, but Gray and I certainly didn’t need10 eggs!

Here’s their version though:

Ingredients: 10 eggs,1/3 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese,1/4 cup low-fat milk, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. freshly  ground pepper, 2 Tbs. olive oil, 8 oz. turkey sausages, 4 cups packed baby arugula (about 5 oz.)

Directions: 
In a large bowl, lightly whisk together the eggs, cheese, milk, salt and pepper. Set aside.

In a 10- or 12-inch ovenproof fry pan over medium-high heat, warm 1 Tbs. of the olive oil. Remove the sausages from their casings, add the meat to the pan and cook, stirring constantly and breaking up the meat into 1-inch pieces, until nicely browned on all sides, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the arugula and stir just until evenly wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Add the sausage mixture to the bowl with the egg mixture.

Wipe the pan clean and return it to medium-high heat. Add the remaining 1 Tbs. olive oil and spread to coat the pan bottom. When the oil is hot, pour the egg mixture into the pan and smooth the top. Reduce the heat to medium and cook, without stirring, for 1 minute.

Transfer the pan to the oven and bake until the frittata is set in the center and slightly puffed, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes in the pan. Carefully run a paring knife or sharp-bladed spatula around the inside edges to release the frittata and slide onto a large plate.

My Tweaks: I used turkey sausage crumbles I picked up at Walmart and substituted Lactaid non-fat milk for low fat milk.

As far as cutting in half, I used five eggs, two cups of arugula and about 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil. For the sausage crumbles, I just sort of poured what looked to be the right amount into the frying pan.  I kept the 1/3 cup parmesan cheese the same. 🙂 And I used my small frying pan instead of a 10-12 inch one like the recipe suggested. It worked perfectly.

We were both pretty hungry, so we split it  and downed it probably in about 10 minutes.

Gray has volunteered to make breakfast potatoes to go with it next time.

(Have I mentioned I love my new cookbook?!)

Leave a Reply

