Uncategorized

An Ode to Steak

Steak, I love you. I really do.

At times I think I could be a vegetarian. I don’t eat burgers much could easily bid farewell to chicken, turkey and pork. Plus, I love veggies.

But then, I have a steak and I’m reminded why I’m a carnivore.

(This is actually a little less than half of the sirloin steak I bought on sale at Publix. It just looks humongous in the picture.)

Steak, you are also especially delicious after a 50-minute bike ride.

OK, I’m done being ridiculous now.

Seriously though, we had pretty awesome steak for dinner last night that I’d bought on sale Sunday.

My initial plan was to make this beautiful salad that my new cookbook featured. It had oranges and radishes, in addition to the steak.

But, I was so freaking hungry after I got back from the park (I’d been eating pretty lightly during the day) that after I took the steak out of the broiler, I just plopped that sucker down on a bed of arugula and that was it.

At least I managed a picture before Gray and I devoured our respective plates.

Here’s the marinade I used, courtesy of Williams-Sonoma.

Ingredients: 1/4 cup soy sauce, 4 tbsp fresh orange juice, 1 tbsp ginger, 1 clove of garlic minced

Directions: Place steak (which I cut into three pieces) into a ziplock bag with marinade and shake thoroughly so the juice spreads throughout. Then refrigerate it for an hour or more before cooking.

For the steak: I broiled it on high for about 5 minutes on each side. It was pink on the inside, but not rare.

What the cookbook actually says: The cookbook wanted fresh ginger, which i did not have handy, and also suggested 4 tbsp of lime juice.  I loved it so much (as did the boyfriend) that I’m hesitant to add lime juice. Though, I’m sure fresh ginger would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

