Uncategorized

Get Your Run On

I have a confession to make.

I hate running. Seriously. I don’t like it at all.

When I’m outside, I have trouble pacing myself. When I’m inside, I feel like I may die of boredom on the treadmill.

I’m jealous of these people I see at the gym who just make it look like the easiest, most relaxing, calorie-burning experience. Seriously, who are these people?

Yet, I’m running. After 27 years of hating running, I’ve given in.  I’m not even sure what started it. About two months ago, I started jogging parts of my workout. I usually do crazy long walks outside (my friend Lynn and I have done about 10 miles on some trails near my house) or I walk on the treadmill where I’m constantly increasing the speed and resistance.

I started with 5 and 10 minute jogs as part of the hour long walk. And kept building. The other day it was a 5 minute walk warmup, 15 minutes running, 10 minutes walking and then another 30 minutes running with a 5 minute cool down.

I have no idea how people zone out when they do this. I have no idea how people find it relaxing. I think I get to the end of each running portion out of sheer determination. (I will make it to 30 minutes)

What I do know is that it’s good for you. If the calorie counters on the machines are correct, I burn more calories running than walking or ellipticalling. (yep, just made up that word) And I like how I feel afterward.

I’m trying to run 3 times per week and just see where it goes. Maybe I will get to that point where I find it both relaxing and good exercise. We’re definitely not there yet.  But we’ll see what happens.

Source: Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Get Your Run On

  1. This made me laugh, because I was just like you a few years ago. I started running when my little brother was in Afghanistan because I needed an outlet for my anxiety, and because I wanted to make a sacrifice for him during his deployment. Hate is not too strong a word for how I felt about running my whole life.
    My advice (not that you need it) is 1) great shoes (worth the cost!) and 2) Google “couch to 5K” for some guidance on how to build up your times. I had never run more than a mile in my life when I started a couple months before my 27th birthday. On my birthday, I ran half an hour — and suddenly realized I was having fun. It was truly a Liz Lemon “what-the-what!” moment. 🙂 When my brother got home from Afghanistan, we did a race together, and it was one of the best moments of my life, to see how proud he was of me and to be able share something he’s always loved.
    I still find it incredibly hard to run without something to distract me from the fact that I’m running. iPod with music or podcasts is so necessary to me.
    Good luck on your journey! I’ve had to take most of the summer off for a totally unrelated medical issue, and I found myself actually missing running. (If you’d told me that in 2009, I’d call you crazy!) I actually just looked up a Couch-to-5K plan the other day, since I’ll essentially be starting from scratch — except now I know I can do it. 🙂 Even if I look like Phoebe Buffay doing it…

Leave a Reply

