Recipe Time: Green smoothies

Behold the green monster smoothie…

We are not friends.

I love smoothies, but usually more of the fruit variety — strawberry-banana, peach, mango, etc. But, I was watching an interview with Olympic swimmer Amanda Beard where she said she felt smoothies were the only way she’d get the amount of vegetables she should be eating. And then Monday, I saw a picture on Pinterest of one. So, I decided to start googling recipes to see what I came up with. (It never hurts to have more veggies.)

I settled on Skinny Taste’s Green  Monster . I love Skinny Taste and have never been steered wrong by their recipes.

I was generally skeptical of the recipe; however, the blogger  noted that she had been skeptical as well and she is now a big fan.

On Tuesday morning, I had come home from the gym and was feeling a tad under the weather. So, I decided it was the prime time to try something that is chock-full of nutrients.

It did not go well. The first sip, I got the peanut butter and banana taste. And on the second gulp, I nearly choked.

I think the problem (for me) was the Greek yogurt. I don’t like Greek yogurt (yes, I know it’s better for you, has more protein) and I think it made the smoothie too thick for me. I just didn’t like it.

So, I promptly poured the green goo down the drain.

Anyone have a solution/better recipe?

Ingredients

  • 1 small frozen ripe banana, peeled
  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup plain fat-free Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)

Directions

Place all of the ingredients in a blender (plus ice if you want) and blend until smooth

One comment

  1. mershedperderders · August 31, 2012

    Just leave out the yogurt…here is an alternative recipe that is actually pretty good. http://ohsheglows.com/2011/01/13/classic-green-monster/. The seeds can take some getting used to, but you could leave them out or grind them in a spice grinder before adding to the smoothie.

Leave a Reply

