Uncategorized

My sister

My sister Sarah might be the bravest (or craziest) person I know.

This morning, she and my mom began a cross country trip because Sarah is moving to California.

She quit her job at Macy’s a few weeks ago, packed her bags, found a place to live in Los Angeles and now is moving all the way across the country, 39 hours from the Pittsburgh suburb we grew up in and 35 hours away from me in Tallahassee. 😦

She made the rounds, saying goodbye to her friends and spent a few days with our grandfather, who I think is wishing she hadn’t paid attention when he told her to go where the action is.

                           Photo: Me, Papa and Sarah at Christmas 2007.

Sarah, 23, graduated this May with a degree in Cinema from Point Park University in Pittsburgh with hopes of becoming a screenwriter. The faculty told the cinema students to not even bother applying to jobs unless they had a California address. They needed enough money to live out there for six months and a car.

Sarah felt that if she didn’t try now, she’d chicken out and never even attempt to break into the business. So, she’s going.

I really admire her for having the guts to do it. I don’t know if I could. I was scared moving to Florida, but her move seems way more intimidating. (And I selfishly wish she was moving closer to me)

My sister and I fought all the time when we were little, like most kids I guess. But I distinctly remember that one day, the lovely Peg Cowan, who sat behind us at church, told me that Sarah would be one of my best friends when I grew up. (I am four years older than Sarah, so I of course, got the lecture about us bickering.) And I’m sure Mrs. Cowan would be telling me “I told you so,” if she were still with us.

Sarah is one of the smartest, funniest and most sarcastic people I know.  She’s hard working, sometimes brutally honest and doesn’t suffer fools.

She’s also there for me whenever I need to talk.

I wish she were moving closer to me, but I know she is pursuing her dreams, and I couldn’t be more proud of her for that. So, I’ve got two books to put in the mail to her already and soon, I’ll be looking at plane tickets.

And for now, I’m going to raise a glass to my sister, and sit back and resist the urge to text or call her every five minutes to see how the trip is going.

Leave a Reply

