Uncategorized

Zucchini, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways

(Apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning fans for manipulating her famous poem)

What else should a girl be doing at 8 a.m. Friday other than making zucchini bread?

I had two problems Thursday night by the time I got home from my book club.

A) I hadn’t used some zucchini I bought last weekend because I’d been slightly under the weather and didn’t feel like cooking.

B) We were heading to Gray’s mom’s on Friday after work and I hadn’t picked up anything to bring for her.

Zucchini bread. Problem solved.

So at 8 a.m., much to Gray’s confusion, I was standing in the kitchen grating zucchini.

I found the recipe here at 100 Days of Real Food and loved that it used whole wheat flour and honey as a sweetener instead of sugar.

It gave me an excuse to use some locally produced honey! One of my colleagues dabbles in bee keeping, and I had a fresh jar on hand.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • ¾ cup oil (The author used coconut oil; I used canola)
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional – I didn’t have any on hand, so I didn’t include any. The author suggests pecans, almonds or walnuts)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F for small loaf pans or 325 degrees F for large loaf pan or muffins.
  2. Blend the dry ingredients.
  3. Make a well (or hole) in the center and pour in the eggs, oil, honey and vanilla. Stir just until mixed – do not overmix.
  4. Fold in the grated zucchini and chopped nuts if using. Pour batter into greased loaf pan(s) or muffin holders and bake until a toothpick comes clean in the top/center of the loaf or muffin.
  • If using smaller pans bake for 30 – 40 minutes. I was able to fill four of my small loaf pans.
  • For one larger loaf pan bake for 50 – 60 minutes.
  • For muffins bake for 15 – 20 minutes.
Leave a Reply

