Uncategorized

Bugs and carrot muffins

I had a text message exchange with my mom at about 9 p.m. yesterday that went like this.

Me: Flour infested

Mom: Bugs?

 

Sigh. Yes, this is what happened when I decided to make carrot muffins last night.

I opened the canister of flour to discover a few bugs crawling around.  Not cool.

I googled pests and flour. Apparently, there are many pests that regularly get into flour either at the grocery store or at home.  It made me feel a little bit better because I happen to think I keep my house pretty clean. But then again, it’s Florida and it’s impossible sometimes to avoid bugs. Once one gets in, you’re done for.

Anyway, the flour pitched and I cleaned the cupboard. So gross.

Oh, the joys of home ownership. Sometimes I miss my old apartment, a third floor place that didn’t have bug problems. Now, I’m surrounded by woods. I generally love my house, but I do seem to get bugs here.  I blame nature.

Luckily, I had a separate bag of wheat flour in my pantry. The infected flour had been sitting on the counter.

There would be carrot muffins.

 

I got this recipe from my wonderful Williams-Sonoma cookbook, Healthy in a Hurry. It’s really amazing. My parents gave it to me last year.

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour

2/3 cup whole wheat flour (I used all whole wheat flour after the bug debacle)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil (alas, I was out of oil and substituted butter)

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 carrots peeled and grated (about  1 1/2 cups)

1/2 cup milk

Walnuts and raisins optional

Directions:

In a medium bowl, mix together the flours, baking soda and baking powder. In a larger bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil and brown sugar. Mix in the carrots. Then add the flour mixture and milk and stir until everything is mixed together in a moist batter.

Stir batter into lined muffin tin. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes. (I found 23 to be perfect.)

And voila.

 

You want to know something funny? I totally forgot the milk. I realized it as I was typing out the recipe. Oops. They seem to taste fine without it.

Caution: If you want something sweet, this isn’t really the muffin for you. I still find them quite tasty, but I really like the taste of whole wheat.

Leave a Reply

