Uncategorized

My mom comes up with awesome recipes

My mom is awesome.

Well, she’s awesome for a couple reasons, but for the purpose of this post, she’s awesome because she is an amazing cook. Seriously,  I feel like when I’m at home, all I do is eat.

Yesterday afternoon, I was grocery shopping and noticed pre-cut beef strips for a stir fry. This reminded me of a recipe my mom came up with and I couldn’t get it out of my head. So, I picked up the required beef , plus a green pepper and walnuts.

I then called my mom because I wasn’t actually sure how she made this dish. It turned out I also should have bought mushrooms and onions at the store.  But since I didn’t, we were going to have to go without.

This was the result.

Ingredients:

* Amounts depend on how many you’re cooking for

Sirloin steak cut into strips (amount depending on how many you’re cooking for. I was cooking for two)

Green pepper (used half)

Chopped walnuts (about a half cup)

Soy Sauce

Ginger

Onion powder

Garlic powder

Directions

Soak beef in soy sauce for about an hour.  Remove from soy sauce and place on plate covered with paper towel. Let air out. Meanwhile, cut green pepper into small pieces.

Melt a tbsp of butter in frying pan and brown meat. Sprinkle with onion powder, garlic powder (both to taste). Add about 1 tsp ginger.

Add green pepper and cook for about another minute or two. Then add walnuts and cook for about a minute.

Remove and eat!!

I seriously forgot how good this is. My mom came up with it when I was a baby. There’s some story about close family friends coming over and my mom, last minute, whipped up this dish.  It’s so flavorful.

I added a side spinach salad for some more green goodness.

Leave a Reply

