Food lately: All Day Roast and easy stir fry

I haven’t exactly been adventurous in the kitchen lately.

But, I figure it can’t hurt to share some old favorites.

Such as the most wonderful, easiest roast ever.

It’s this simple. Get any type of beef roast (I try to use about 2.5 lbs), one can of cream of mushroom soup and a packet of French onion soup.

IMG_1222

Throw it all in the crock pot and cook on high for four hours or low for eight.  I typically serve this with egg noodles and some sort of vegetable.

My mom actually makes this in the oven, but I feel safer about keeping the slow cooker on all day as opposed to the oven. My oven is pretty old and I’m paranoid.

*****

The other favorite I have to share, which I made last night, is a simple stir fry.

Basically, you need shrimp, a bag of frozen veggies (Asian medley preferred), 1 tbsp olive oil, some soy sauce and ground ginger.  Oh, and rice if you want that.

Cook the shrimp in the olive oil, while simultaneously cooking the frozen veggies in the microwave or stove. (I usually get the bag of veggies you can throw straight in the microwave.)

When shrimp is pink,remove from heat and add the cooked veggies. Cover with soy sauce and sprinkle with ground ginger.  If I were measuring it out, I’d say about 1/8-1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/2 tsp ground ginger.

IMG_0255

Now to figure out what to make tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

