Uncategorized

Salmon tacos

First, let me say, that until about two weeks ago, I thought I didn’t like salmon.

My mom hates it and developed a hatred for it while she was pregnant. She also can’t really drink coffee, and I tend to feel sick after drinking coffee. (It’s only for emergency caffeine situations.)

But when we were in Orlando a few weeks ago, I opted for an omelette with salmon in it. Turns out, I kind of like it.

So, upon coming home, I immediately flipped through my awesome, wonderful Williams-Sonoma cookbook to  a recipe I remembered seeing for salmon tacos.

They are supposed to look like this in the end

Source: ivillage.com via Renee on Pinterest

 

But, I didn’t take a picture so you’ll never know how close I got. Well, I can tell you that I didn’t actually buy a red onion, cilantro, lime juice and radishes, so it didn’t look nearly this pretty.

I was just sort of winging it, which was really a terrible idea given that I’d never made salmon before. And on top of that, I’d never bought an avocado before, so I didn’t really know how to best judge them. (Had to make a quick call to my friend Lynn about that one, who laughed at me, but explained what to look for.)

So, here’s what I did:

Ingredients: Salmon filets (I cut one piece in half for us and it seemed to be plenty), avocado chunks and mango chunks, olive oil, pepper, salt, warm tortillas

Direction: Brush salmon with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook on Foreman grill. Remove fish from grill and place on top of tortilla. Cover with pieces of mango and avocado. Wrap it up and eat it.

I have to say, they turned out pretty well. I think they could have been better, but for a simple, go-to meal, it was perfect.

I still have another two pieces of salmon tucked away in the freezer, so I have to figure out what to do with that.

Any ideas?

One thought on “Salmon tacos

  1. We have salmon fairly often…I love it. I like to do a simple marinade of balsamic vinegar with a couple glugs of soy sauce (you can add brown sugar, garlic or ginger for a boost) and salt and pepper. You only have to marinade for a 1/2 to 1 hour. I dry the filets and then sear in hot pan with a little olive oil and finish in the oven until it flakes easily (I like mine medium-rare and the hubs likes his well-done – so I leave his in the oven for longer.) Great over rice or mashed potatoes – or over mixed greens with a balsamic vinaigrette. For your tacos, I think the lime would be critical to bumping up the flavor, both before cooking and as a final touch. It also takes blackening/cajun seasoning really well.

Leave a Reply

