Uncategorized

Irish Soda Bread

Top ‘o’ the mornin’ to you.

Hope you all are having a nice, green day so far.

My Dad and his brother and sister are 100 percent Irish. He and my sister are both red heads. The rest of us all just have really fair skin and Irish names. (Seriously…My dad, aunt and uncle are John, Mary Jane and Ned. I’m Kathleen Courtney, my sister is Sarah Margaret and then my cousins are Adam, Megan and Margaret)

So, we like all things Irish.

Every St. Patrick’s Day growing up, my mom would make clam chowder and we’d watch “The Quiet Man.” She’d also make Irish coffee, but really only my dad and her truly had it Irish. Sarah and I just thought Irish coffee was coffee with chocolate shavings and whipped cream.

Here’s the hilarious fight scene from “The Quiet Man.”

In the vein of St. Patrick’s Day, I decided to make Irish soda bread yesterday.

Now, quite honestly, I only had soda bread for the first time a few weeks ago when we were in Disney and the thought of making it never crossed my mind until I saw this recipe on Eat, Live, Run a few days ago.

The major appeal was that it didn’t require yeast. Baking bread just kind of scares me in general. When Jenna at Eat, Live, Run wrote, “Y’all, if baking bread freaks you out this is THE recipe for you!,” I started cracking up. Because, it does freak me out.

If I see a recipe with yeast, I just don’t make it. I avoid it entirely. I’m sure one day I will try to conquer that fear, but not this weekend.

food 010

Overall, the bread was tasty, though it reminded me a bit of a buttermilk biscuit (probably because there was buttermilk in the recipe). But, it was much more dense.

I didn’t have any jam, but I liked it hot with some butter, myself.

Here’s the recipe again.

Leave a Reply

