Butternut squash pizza

I am in love with butternut squash pizza.

random 004

I have to confess the thought of butternut squash pizza never even crossed my mind until about two weeks ago. I was paging through a copy of Fitness Magazine, which had an interview with Jillian Michaels where Michaels says she makes butternut squash pizza for her daughter.

I didn’t really think much about it until I was in the grocery store  Saturday minus a grocery list and came face to face with the  Publix pizza dough.  And soon I was picking up a butternut squash as well.

Here’s what I did.

***

Ingredients: Pizza dough from your resident grocery store, shredded mozzarella cheese, 1 small butternut squash and oregano.  Also, flour to help when you are rolling out the pizza dough

Directions: About an hour ahead of when you want to actually eat, split the butternut squash in two length wise and put in baking pan with about an inch of water. Cook the squash at 350 for 50 minutes.

Once your squash is out of the oven, cut it into chunks and set aside. I only used half of my squash.

Then, take about 1/8 cup flour and sprinkle over a cutting board. Take the pizza dough and begin kneading and flattening out. (rolling pin is essential — this was harder than I actually thought it was) When you have the dough in a shape/length that you like, brush two tbsp of olive oil on the dough. (I say brush, but I just poured it out of the bottle and used my fingers.) Then sprinkle oregano over the dough.

Next, you will pour the shredded mozzarella over the dough. I would say I used 3/4 of a cup, not really sure, just estimating. Then put the butternut squash on top of the cheese and add about another 1/4 cup of cheese.

Finally, cook at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

***

I really love butternut squash, so I loved this pizza. And, though the kneading/rolling of the dough took a tiny bit longer than I thought it would, it was overall pretty easy.

I think I’d like to try a whole wheat crust with it, but this was still pretty darn tasty.

Leave a Reply

