Chili and buttermilk biscuits

I was on a roll Sunday.

In addition to the pizza, I also made chili (my mom’s recipe, which is the best) and buttermilk biscuits.

This was the first time I’ve ever attempted buttermilk biscuits. It is not something I even really contemplated making. However, Gray’s mom has gotten me a subscription to Southern Living for the past two years, so apparently staring at photos of classic southern food paid off.

buttermilk biscuits 003

The recipe is over at Southern Living, but essentially you need flour, baking soda, baking powder, butter and buttermilk.

I am undecided on my first attempt at this key Southern food. They definitely could have been fluffier and they weren’t quite the melt-in-your-mouth type.  But they still tasted good. (Of course, Gray points out that nothing will ever beat the biscuits we had in New Orleans last year.)

I am giving myself an “A” for effort, but it’s not something I particularly envision myself making often. I wanted to try it, but now that I have, I don’t see the need to make them all the time.

Leave a Reply

