Uncategorized

Soy and Ginger Salmon

I’m continuing on my exploration of salmon dishes, now that I’ve realized I don’t totally hate it.

Tonight’s dish came courtesy of Martha Stewart and the other half of the salmon that I got a few weeks ago for the salmon tacos.  It had just been sitting all lonesome in the freezer.

salmon 001

I didn’t follow Martha’s advice to the letter. Her recipe calls for honey, which I was out of and forgot to buy some from my neighborly honey supplier (aka as the radio reporter who dabbles in apiary and just happens to work in the office next to me — Hi Rick!) .

So, here’s what I did.

Ingredients: Salmon, 1/4 cup soy, 1 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, one finely chopped garlic clove (Martha’s recipe is this plus 2 tbsp honey)

Directions: Combine ingredients in bowl and soak fish in it for a few minutes. Transfer to  baking dish and pour the marinade over the fish. Broil on high for 7-8 minutes.

Note: Martha says I should let the fish sit in the marinade for 30 minutes in the refrigerator. But, I did not have Martha’s time or patience.

It was a little too much soy for me (Gray says there is no such thing as too much soy). I’m sure the honey would have neutralized that a bit. But, overall, it was still quite tasty and I was a fan.

But, I also still feel that I don’t want salmon all the time. It was good and I enjoyed it, but I just don’t want it regularly whereas I could eat tilapia or flounder weekly.

Leave a Reply

