Uncategorized

Carrot-coconut muffins

I am absolutely in love with these carrot-coconut muffins by Ambitious Kitchen.

muffins 004

 

The taste is reminiscent of carrot cake (and I LOVE carrot cake), but without the sugar. The only sugar in the recipe is 2/3 cup brown sugar.

Ambitious Kitchen’s Monique makes great substitutions to make this healthier as well.  For example, using applesauce instead of oil.

This was the first time I’d ever used the applesauce instead of oil trick, so I was curious to see the results. Trust me, you CANNOT tell. I’m going to start doing this on a regular basis now.

I had a few minor changes in my version. I left out the nuts and raisins, even though I like both of those things. I’d honestly forgotten to buy them, but I frequently leave raisins out of muffin or bread recipes that call for them anyway.

I also used sweetened coconut instead of unsweetened. That was basically because I bought it without consulting the recipe. And I like the sweetness.

Anyway, go make these muffins right now. RIGHT NOW.

 

Leave a Reply

