Classic lasagna

I have accomplished one of my goals for my 28th year.

I made lasagna last night.

Lasagna is seriously one of my favorite foods. My mom makes it every Christmas Eve and also any time I come home to visit. She has this awesome deep casserole dish that she uses for it, so the lasagna has so many layers. My mom joked the other day that most children fight over money, but Sarah and I will be fighting over that casserole dish.

But for whatever reason, I have never attempted to make a good ol’ fashioned lasagna. Maybe I just didn’t want to mess with mom’s recipe. I don’t know. It just seemed intimidating. I tried spinach lasagna rolls one time and a butternut squash lasagna. But not the classic meat and cheese kind.

It was time to end this fear. I even took a bigger risk by choosing to make it on the night a friend was coming over for dinner. (I had made some sweet potato and leek soup earlier in the week that was in storage just in case)

But luckily for me  (and Gray and my friend) it tasted like mom’s, just without so many layers.

Here’s her recipe, which she so kindly emailed me a week or so ago:

Ingredients:1 pound ground meat,1 1/2 jars spaghetti sauce, garlic powder, oregano,basil, 12 lasagna noodles-not whole wheat. 15-16 oz ricotta, mozzarella

Kathleen’s adjustments: Given that my pan was much smaller than what she uses, I only used 1 jar of sauce, nine noodles and probably about 4-5 oz ricotta. I also used slices of mozzarella cheese, but shredded is just as easy.

Directions: Brown ground meat and drain. Add sauce and seasonings. Simmer for at least 1/2 hour. Boil noodles and drain.

Spray 9 x 12 pan w/ Pam. Put a layer of sauce, then 3 noodles length wise. Top with dollops of ricotta and spread over the noodles and then another layer of sauce. Keep repeating until noodles are used up. On top layer after the ricotta and sauce layer the mozzarella.

Tip:make sure the sauce is covering all the noodles so they don’t dry out. If you want more layers increase the noodles and sauce. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 1/2 hour or more if you make ahead and refrigerate

Leave a Reply

