Uncategorized

Cooking Up a Storm: Grilled Rosemary Pork Chops and Zucchini-Mint Pasta

After a cooking slump this spring, I seem to be back in the kitchen a lot lately.

A few weeks ago when Gray and I were visiting his mom (and getting engaged!), I was paging through some magazines I’d neglected the past few months because I’d been busy at work.

I first came across this delightful looking zucchini-mint pasta in Southern Living. Given that I’ve got a wedding to plan and a dress to wear, I probably won’t be making this a lot, but Gray says I can make it whenever I want. (Which is his way of saying he liked it.)

I confess I did forget to add the mint, even though it was sitting in the refrigerator, and I forgot walnuts.  But, it was an interesting and different way of dressing up your random pasta dish.
Side note: The shallots really got to me and I had tears running down my face. No photo evidence though. 🙂

zucchini pasta

So, the pasta was dinner last night, but  I also tried a new pork chop recipe this past Sunday.

I literally sat on the couch Sunday afternoon browsing through recipes because I was tired of the general salt and pepper coating.  I finally found a winner in this recipe from AllRecipes.com.  It combined soy sauce, water, brown sugar and rosemary. I like all of those things so I decided to give it a go.

Gray came in to assist in grilling the chops after they’d marinated for about a half hour.

We were both fans of the result.

pork chop

Served with fresh corn on the cob and spinach salad.

That’s all. Tonight will be roasted veggies and if I have time, I might even bake some blueberry muffins.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

