Uncategorized

Working out in the rain and a shrimp dish

The weather of late has not been my friend.

weatherWe’ve had an extra rainy summer this year in Tallahassee and quite frankly, it’s pissing me off!

Though, I actually do like running on the treadmill, I’m a bigger fan of a long hike through our local park. The long trails actually can connect you to another park, which connects to a greenway. (My friend Lynn and I have gone more than 10 miles when connecting all the parks. We’ve also gotten lost a few times. 🙂 ) So, anyway this rain has been getting in my way.

We got caught Sunday during the last 10-15 minutes of our 8.5 mile walk and then again Wednesday night during a 4 miler.

But at least I got a nice photo of the park first.

tom brown

I should have taken a self portrait of Lynn and me post walk. We were a little sad looking by the time we got back to the cars. But, we decided rain or shine, we are walking and gave each other a high five to celebrate our dedication. (Yeah, we’re nerds. You gotta problem with that?)

And to reward myself for my dedication for this rainy workout, I made shrimp and sugar snap peas for dinner that I do not have a photo of because I was so hungry that I ate it too fast.

It’s similar to my simple stir fry recipe. I live for easy, quick meals.

Ingredients: 1 bag frozen shrimp, 1 bag Birds Eye Steamfresh sugar snap peas, two tbsp olive oil, fresh ground pepper, 1 tsp ginger and soy sauce (optional)

Directions: Thaw shrimp. (Remove shell and devein if  needed. Heat olive oil in frying pan and cook shrimp until pink. At the same time, cook sugar snap peas according to directions. Remove shrimp from heat and add in the sugar snap peas. Season with pepper and ginger. If desired add soy sauce. (Basically, Gray had soy sauce and I didn’t.)

Really easy. If you buy deveined shrimp, it will only take you about 10 minutes to make. (Well, once the shrimp thaws anyway.)It’s  pretty healthy too. About 300 calories (minus soy sauce), according to my calculations.

Leave a Reply

