Uncategorized

A Quinoa Stuffed Pepper and an 11.2 mile walk

On Sunday morning, I took a very long walk.

11.2 miles to be exact.

My friend Lynn, my walking partner in crime, had texted me Saturday night that she wanted us to do a long walk Sunday. We have levels of walks. Four to six miles is short. Six to eight is medium and anything above eight is long.

And let me tell you, everything seems long in the lovey Florida summer humidity.

But, we powered through (with two water refills along the way– Thank God for park water fountains) and made it 11.2 miles.

This was us at the end.

11 miles

Lynn looked way happier than me. I was thinking of food, washing my face and more food.  My stomach was audibly growling the last 20 minutes of the hike. We definitely should have brought a snack along.

We quickly went to the nearby Jason’s Deli for some sandwiches.

And despite the fact that I probably could have wolfed down a huge thing of pasta tonight, I stuck to my original dinner plan, which was trying to make quinoa stuffed peppers.

They were OK.

Gray and I opted to file them under “when we want something really healthy for dinner” column, but not under Gray’s designation of “you can make this whenever you want.” (which is how I know when he really likes a dish.)

quinoz

It was definitely filling, but not something I would ever crave. But then again, I’m not a huge quinoa fan. I’ve been trying to give it a fair chance, so I’m making a few different dishes with it. This was one of the them.

Here’s how I made it.

Ingredients: 1/2 cup quinoa cooked in water, 1 can of diced tomatoes, (I intended to get regular, but accidentally picked up roasted garlic), baby spinach leaves baby bella mushrooms, 1 tbsp olive oil, two red peppers, shaved parmesan cheese

Directions: Cook quinoa as directed on package. Separately, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in frying pan and cook mushrooms for about 3-5 minutes or until tender. Add spinach. Drain diced tomatoes and pour into pan. Then stir in the quinoa.

Cut off the tops of two red peppers and place in baking dish. (Spray baking dish with PAM ahead of time.)  Fill peppers with quinoa mixture. Cover pan with foil and cook at 400 for 20 minutes. Uncover and then cook for another 10 minutes. Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top and then let cook for another two minutes.  (You could  cook longer. I like my pepper still a little crunchy, though they are supposed to be soft when you eat them.)

***Gray suggested that perhaps adding cheese to the mixture, instead of just sprinkling it on top would improve the recipe.

 

One thought on “A Quinoa Stuffed Pepper and an 11.2 mile walk

Leave a Reply

