Far East Chicken

I dug out my absolute favorite cookbook Saturday to page through it for some new recipes.

A few Christmases ago, my Dad searched for copies of the Penn State Alumni Association cookbook, “Cookin’ With the Lion” to give to Sarah and me. They were out of print, but luckily Amazon came through with some used copies.

My mom has used that cookbook for years and some of our favorite family recipes come out of there, including Pane Italiano, apple cake and mushroom and wild rice soup (I actually made a batch of the soup last night to have later this week.)

But, there are still many recipes in there that I have not attempted.

That includes the “Far East Chicken” dish.

Well, let’s just say that the “Far East Chicken” is now probably on my permanent rotation of dishes.

Far east chicken

Ingredients: Four chicken breast (I used boneless, but the recipe said to use the ones with bones), 3/4 cup vermouth, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 tbsp brown sugar, two tbsp water, 1 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp oregano

Directions: Place chicken in baking dish. Combine sauce ingredients in a bottle or a jar and shake hard to combine. Then pour the sauce over the chicken. Cook for 30 minutes at 375 degrees.

* The original recipe said 50 minutes at 375, but the chicken breasts I had were on the small side and I knew that my oven usually cooks them in 30.

 

I served the chicken with mixed veggies and some wild rice.

Leave a Reply

