Uncategorized

Taco love

My sister Sarah asked if she could write about her love of tacos and since I love a good taco as well, I could hardly refuse her.

So, without further adieu, here is Sarah’s post.

*****

 

I love a good taco.

Really, I do.

When I was fourteen, my mother took me to a real Mexican restaurant one night for dinner. It was a special event, considering my father would never go for Mexican and thankfully at the time, he was working the late shift.

I had only ever consumed Taco Bell before then. But this time, at a magical restaurant called El Campesino, I had real tacos. I was still not quite the adventurous, so I went with what I knew– ground beef tacos.

But now? Now I’m a taco connoisseur. Carnitas, steak, veggie, chicken, fish– I love it all. The best tacos are usually street tacos of some form. Yelp tells me that you can find the best tacos out of a greasy truck in the San Fernando Valley in Los Angeles.

I don’t really have the time, patience or gas money to follow these trucks though. That’s where Pinterest comes in.

Pinterest led me to this magical site:

Iowa Girl Eats.

Chicken tacos in the crock pot.

Holy mother of god.

So fast. So easy. Super delicious.

It calls for three ingredients:

Chicken

Taco seasoning

Salsa

Throw it in the crock pot and come back when it’s done.

And I did just that– with a few adjustments.

Firstly, the recipe calls for chicken breasts– but chicken breasts weren’t on sale, so I just threw in some frozen bone-in chicken thighs. About halfway through the cooking, I managed to take off the skin and remove the bones– annoying, but worth it.

Secondly, I made sure that the taco seasoning I used did not contain any maltodextrin in its ingredients. Maltodextrin has traces of gluten in it and is a sneaky little substance that is in EVERYTHING. And since I’ve attempted to go gluten free, I wanted this meal to be as gluten free as possible. McCormick thankfully has a nice selection of maltodextrin free spice packets.

Thirdly, I added something special to the salsa. In the west, there is a salsa company called Herdez. Herdez is nice and cheap– just what I like. I used the Mild, but the Hot will work as well– whatever you’re comfortable with. But to make it a little more interesting, and thanks to our mother’s friend who taught me this recipe, I threw the salsa into a blender beforehand with a handful of fresh cilantro and two cloves of garlic. Then I poured it over the chicken. Another suggestion would be to use Target’s Archer Farms Restaurant Style salsa and do the same thing with the cilantro and garlic.

Once the tacos are done, get some corn tortillas, put some cheese inside and throw them in the oven. Add the chicken and your favorite taco toppings and you have the best chicken tacos you will ever taste in your life. I promise.

Leave a Reply

