Uncategorized

Fall and butternut squash

I seriously love fall.
I love the cooler weather and the fact that I can wear sweaters and boots. I love college football games. I love that it means Thanksgiving and Christmas are right around the corner.

This fall seems especially busy with fun and exciting things.

For one, I got to see my grad school pal Ashley and her husband George two weeks ago. They were in town to see her aunt and uncle en route to a relaxing beach vacation in Apalachicola.

ashley and me

Last weekend, Gray and I went to the wedding of one of his college friends. This past weekend was the Greek Food Festival in Tallahassee (gyros and baklava = happy Kathleen). And this coming weekend, my mom is visiting! November includes going to Orlando for a Univ. of Central Florida (Gray’s alma mater) football game,  a reunion with two other grad school pals and Thanksgiving! (I now want stuffing)

Anyway, all this wonderfulness that is autumn makes me want soup all of the time. And really, I want butternut squash soup.

What I’d really like is for someone to cut up the butternut squash for me because it is a pain in the rear. But, I’m glutton for punishment.

I have not stuck consistently to a butternut squash recipe. So, for this go around, I simply chopped up the squash, added about a half cup of milk and a quarter cup of wine. I also added about  a cup of parmesan and a little bit of flour to thicken it up.

more-than-easy-mac-041

In other versions, I’ve added an onion and a carrot. Hence, this old photo.

This soup was immediately consumed by Gray, my friend Kelsey and myself for dinner last week. I also took the leftovers to work one day. I cannot get enough of the butternut squash flavor. It’s just so good.

Well, that is all and I need to get ready for work. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

