Uncategorized

Why It’s Hard to Keep a Food Blog

When I started this blog, I was in a new city, single, friendless, etc. It was a really tough year. I was not adjusting well to living in Florida at all.

I missed my friends from grad school, Pittsburgh, my mom and dad and sister. And you could not persuade me that there was much good about Tallahassee. The first Thanksgiving I went home, I started to cry on the early morning trip back to the airport.

Somewhere in those first few months, I decided to start this food blog. It may have had something to do with me finding Bon Appetit unapproachable as a reader. (I don’t necessarily feel that way now.)

Anyway, I jumped into it and kept it up pretty regularly. And naturally — though completely unrelated to my food blogging — I started to like Tallahassee, made lots of good friends and eventually met my husband.

As the years continued, my posting  got fewer and farther in between. I was too busy actually enjoying my life. I have no idea how people with full time jobs and lives post daily. I’m in awe of it, though I’m also not sure that I would want to be worried about constantly taking a photo or writing the perfect post.

But, as my friend Andrea reminded me recently, you can always come back to the site whenever you feel like it because it has already been created.  It’s not starting from scratch.

I would like to promise that I’m going to post once a week, but I don’t know if I actually will. I want to post whenever it feels natural and not forced.

But for now, I will leave you with a photo of these lovely roasted veggies I made last night as part of my #SundayMealPrep. It had broccoli, carrots, brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes, red peppers, cauliflower and baby bells. I tossed them in olive oil, sprinkled them with kosher salt and roasted them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

IMG_1145

Leave a Reply

