Recipes

Sunday means waffles

Good morning, Blog.

Gray and I have been trying to recover from a rather long week, so I thought comfort foods were the right way to go this weekend.

Last night, I made Eat, Live, Run’s spicy pork and kale soup. And this morning, I finally tried a new waffle recipe that I’d been eying on Pinterest. Well, to be fair, the bloggers Kevin & Amanda adapted it from an Alton Brown recipe, and I adapted it from them.

My adaption was more out of necessity. On Pinterest, the words cinnamon-nutmeg waffle immediately caught my eye. Of course, this morning, as I was dragging down my waffle iron from a high shelf, I realized that we were out of nutmeg.

So, it became more of a cinnamon-ginger waffle. I subbed out nutmeg for ginger and also reduced the amount of sugar. Their recipe called for 2 tbsp brown sugar and 1 tbsp granulated sugar. I skipped the granulated sugar.

20141123_103543

Ingredients: 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda,1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp ground ginger, 3 eggs, beaten,4 tablespoons butter, melted, 2 cups buttermilk, room temperature

Directions: Combine the dry ingredients in a medium size bowl. In a large bowl, beat together the buttermilk, eggs and butter.
If needed, spray waffle iron with PAM and ladle batter onto your waffle iron. Cook according to your waffle maker’s directions. (I use about 1/2 cup batter on mine.)
Serve with your favorite toppings — syrup, fruit, applesauce, etc. My batch made seven waffles, but I probably could have stretched it to eight. So, depending on how many people you are cooking for, you might have leftovers.
Both Gray and I were big fans of this recipe. The waffles were light, fluffy and flavorful. i definitely would make this again.
Next up: Vegetable soup.

Leave a comment