Uncategorized

Recipe experimentation: Balsamic chicken with mango

Hello!

I’ve been meaning to post all week and really just haven’t gotten around to it.  Too much stuff has been going on!

That also kind of meant that I hadn’t been doing too much cooking, but I decided to play around with some ingredients last night for a new chicken recipe. It wasn’t too fancy, just a little balsamic vinegar, olive oil and mango.

And voila!

balsamic chicken

(We also got new dishes this weekend.)

****

Ingredients: 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar (these are actually guesses because I didn’t measure) , chicken breasts or cutlets, chopped up mango. Serve with basmati rice and mixed veggies.

Directions: Mix together the oil and vinegar and pour over chicken in baking dish. Let sit for about half hour. (That is ideal. I think I let mine sit for about 10 minutes.)  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. (Probably a little less for cutlets.)

Separately, chop up mango and set aside until chicken is done. Remove chicken from the oven and place chicken on bed of rice. Place mango on top.

****

Looking back a day later, I would have put the mango in the baking dish when there was a minute or two left in the cooking time to get more of the juices. But, even with the way I did it, a bite of the chicken, mango and rice together was still pretty awesome.

However, I actually liked it better as a leftover. I made an extra piece last night and heated it up this afternoon to go in my spinach leaf salad with some grape tomatoes and shaved parmesan. The shaved parmesan combined with the chicken had a really great flavor and made a perfect lunch.

Leave a comment