Uncategorized

Chocolate-zucchini cookies

I’ve been a busy girl today.

This morning: I threw a blog post up for work. I did the dishes. I tidied up the bathroom. Got ready for work. Made chocolate zucchini cookies (because that’s a totally normal thing to do at 8 a.m.) and made it to work in time for a 9:45 a.m. press conference on municipal pensions.

And then I did a few phone interviews, answered emails from my editors, wrote two stories and consulted with another reporter about a project.

And the day’s not over yet.

But let’s get back to these cookies.

I first saw these chocolate zucchini cookies on Eat, Live, Run  and decided I was going to bake them for a gathering this evening. (The full recipe is on Tasty Kitchen.)

My friend Lynn, though acknowledging that both chocolate and zucchini were wonderful foods, was skeptical of the combo. So, I promised to try the cookies before serving them.

I’m in love. They’re wonderfully fudgy and if you didn’t know there was zucchini in them, you’d be pondering what that extra taste was. A spice of some sort perhaps?

The baking process was so messy that when Gray walked into the kitchen and saw my hands covered in batter, he said I reminded him of the kid in Matilda who is forced to eat the entire chocolate cake. (See below for the clip.)

 

Ingredients:

  • 1-¼ cup Whole Wheat Flour Or All Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 2 teaspoons Cinnamon
  • ½ cups Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 5 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter, Softened
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • ½ cups Brown Sugar
  • ½ cups White Cane Sugar
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1 cup Shredded Zucchini
  • ½ cups Walnuts, Chopped
  • 1 cup Semi-sweet (or Dark!) Chocolate Chips
  • ⅓ cups Confectioner’s Sugar (for Rolling The Dough In), Optional

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and cocoa powder and whisk or sift to combine.

In a separate large mixing bowl combine the butter, vanilla extract and sugars. Mix until creamy. Add the egg and shredded zucchini and mix just until combined. Pour in the flour mixture (I did this all at once, but the directions suggested doing it in thirds) and combine. Mix in the walnuts and chocolate chips.

If you like powdered sugar, pour some onto a plate or wax paper.  Roll the cookie dough into balls and then roll the balls in the powdered sugar. Space cookie dough balls evenly on  cookie sheet lined with parchment or sprayed with Pam.

Bake 13 to 15 minutes.

I will say that I ate one as I was running out the door to work. I had to try them before serving obviously. They are a little on the rich side. Rich food and Kathleen apparently don’t mix in the morning.  By the time I got to work, I was dying for some water or a big glass of milk.

Leave a comment