Recipes

Fishiness

I have a confession to make. I’ve been feeling quite guilty about the blog lately. The whole reason I started it was to sort of spur me to become a better cook, try new recipes, experiment a little. But it’s not like making pancakes Saturday morning involved me learning anything. And the days I don’t blog, it’s because I’m making something really easy, like roasted veggies or tuna stuffed peppers.

So, confession in hand, I’m going to try to blog a little more frequently and try to make a better effort during the week to cook something new. This week, jambalaya is definitely on the agenda and Saturday night, I made a flounder piccata from Cooking Light with wild rice and roasted squash.

The flounder relies on white wine, lemon juice and capers for its flavoring.  Even though the capers were drained, I felt like there was a lingering vinegar taste. The fish also became a bit too soft, practically falling apart at times. I checked back to the Cooking Light site and saw that a commenter had the same problem, so maybe it wasn’t just me. I have wondered if using frozen fish as opposed to fresh flounder caused some of that, but I can’t be sure.

Ingredients: 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper, 4  (6-ounce) flounder fillets, 2  tablespoons  all-purpose flour, 2  teaspoons  olive oil, 1/3  cup  dry white wine, 2  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice, 1  tablespoon  drained capers, chopped   (I reduced the amounts a bit because I only made on fillet)

Directions: Sprinkle fish with pepper and cover in flour. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium to high heat. Add fish and cook about 1 1/2 minute on each side until fish flakes easily. Add wine, juice and capers to pan and cook one minute.

I realized looking back that I was supposed to add some butter after I let the fish cook in the sauce for a minute, which I forgot to do. I’m not sure how much that would have affected the taste though.

One thought on “Fishiness

  1. That looks tasty! But those capers look massive. Are they caperberries? Usually the ones I get are very tiny, like little BB’s.

Leave a comment