Uncategorized

Ham-Mozzarella-Peach panini

I seriously made the most awesome sandwich last night and I have no photo to prove it.

For some reason, I thought I had blogged this the first and only time I made this more than a year ago. But,  alas, I did not.

Let me tell you about it.

It’s a ham, mozzarella and peach panini.

I got the general idea from a Southern Living recipe that also threw some other ingredients in there (Djon mustard, fontina cheese, country ham and honey.).  But, I don’t like mustard or other condiments on my sandwiches and I love mozzarella.

Here’s Southern Living’s beautiful photo of it:

country-ham-peach-panini-sl-x

Ingredients: Ciabatta or Italian bread, sliced ham, peach (I used three slices each on Gray’s and mine), 1 oz mozzarella cut into small pieces, 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions: Basically, you get two slices of bread (I used a thinly sliced Italian last night, but I previously used ciabatta bread). Brush one side of the first piece with olive oil and place the olive oil side down on your George Foreman grill (or you could do it in a frying pan). Then, layer mozzarella cheese (I cut up some Sorrento part skim mozzarella) and slices of ham. Finally, place a few slices of a fresh peach on top. Brush the olive oil on one side of the remaining slice of bread and top off your sandwich with the olive oil side facing up. Let it cook a few minutes until the bread is golden brown and your cheese is melted.

Then, devour this sandwich with a nice side spinach salad and a glass of water/white wine/ice tea for dinner.

Leave a comment